Quick Answer: Who Controlled Congress In 2006?

Who controlled Congress in 1986?

Congress Overview Democrats regained control of the Senate and held the House after the 1986 elections.

Texan Jim Wright succeeded the retiring Thomas P.

“Tip” O’Neill of Massachusetts as Speaker.

The 100th Congress (1987–1989) reacted to several crises..

Who controlled Congress in 1990?

101st United States CongressMembers100 senators 435 representatives 5 non-voting delegatesSenate MajorityDemocraticSenate PresidentGeorge H. W. Bush (R) (until January 20, 1989) Dan Quayle (R) (from January 20, 1989)House MajorityDemocratic6 more rows

Who controlled the Senate in 1990?

1990 United States Senate electionsLeaderGeorge MitchellBob DolePartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader sinceJanuary 3, 1989January 3, 1985Leader’s seatMaineKansasSeats before55459 more rows

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2009?

Congress Overview Democrats controlled the 111th Congress (2009–2011) with majorities in both houses of Congress alongside the country’s first African-American president, Democrat Barack Obama.

Who had the majority in Congress in 2006?

The incumbent majority party, the Republicans, had won majorities in the House consecutively since 1994, and were defeated by the Democrats who won a majority in the chamber, ending 12 years of Republican control in the House.

Who controlled Congress in 1995?

Congress Overview Republicans swept the 1994 elections and won control of both the House and Senate for the first time in 40 years.

Who controlled the Congress in 2005?

109th United States CongressHouse MajorityRepublicanHouse SpeakerDennis Hastert (R)Sessions1st: January 4, 2005 – December 22, 2005 2nd: January 3, 2006 – December 8, 20066 more rows

When was the last time Democrats controlled the Senate?

Senators elected to regular terms in 2008 were in the last two years of those terms during this Congress. The Senate had a Democratic majority, while the House had a Republican majority. This was the last time Democrats held control of the Senate until the 117th Congress in 2021.

Who controlled Congress in 2007?

The Democratic Party controlled a majority in both chambers for the first time since the end of the 103rd Congress in 1995….110th United States CongressHouse MajorityDemocraticHouse SpeakerNancy Pelosi (D)Sessions1st: January 4, 2007 – December 19, 2007 2nd: January 3, 2008 – January 3, 20096 more rows

Who controlled Congress in 1993?

Democrats controlled Congress and the White House for the first time in 12 years after the 1992 elections. The 103rd Congress (1993–1995) passed the Family and Medical Leave Act, and refocused away from its Cold War foreign policy with a law providing assistance to newly independent former Soviet states.

Who controlled the House of Representatives in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderNancy PelosiJohn BoehnerPartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2003January 3, 2007Leader’s seatCalifornia 8thOhio 8thLast election233 seats, 52.3%202 seats, 44.3%8 more rows

Which party controls Congress in 2021?

117th United States CongressSenate MajorityRepublican (until January 20, 2021) Democratic (from January 20, 2021)Senate PresidentMike Pence (R) (until January 20, 2021) Kamala Harris (D) (from January 20, 2021)House MajorityDemocraticHouse SpeakerNancy Pelosi (D)6 more rows

Who was in charge of the Senate in 2006?

2006 United States Senate electionsLeaderHarry ReidBill Frist (retired)PartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2005January 3, 2003Leader’s seatNevadaTennesseeSeats before445522 more rows

Who controlled the Senate in 2004?

2004 United States Senate electionsLeaderBill FristTom Daschle (lost re-election)PartyRepublicanDemocraticLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2003January 3, 1995Leader’s seatTennesseeSouth DakotaSeats before514821 more rows

Who picks the Senate majority leader?

The Senate Republican and Democratic floor leaders are elected by the members of their party in the Senate at the beginning of each Congress. Depending on which party is in power, one serves as majority leader and the other as minority leader. The leaders serve as spokespersons for their party’s positions on issues.